Last Chance! Outstanding Dissertation Award

Printer-friendly version

Posted on

August 11, 2012
AACTE Awards Logo

This award recognizes excellence in doctoral dissertation research that contributes to the knowledge base of educator preparation or of teaching and learning with implications for educator preparation. Individuals receiving a doctorate in education from January 1, 2011, through June 30, 2012, may apply for this award. The award includes a $1,000 cash prize as well as special recognition at AACTE's 65th Annual Meeting in Orlando, February 28-March 2, 2013.

Past Winners Include: 2011 – Vera Stenhouse for "Mission Possible? An Analysis of the Intended and Implemented Diversity Content of a Teacher," Emory University; Vanessa Siddle Walker, Adviser 2010 - Winifred R. Cohron for "The Effect of Teacher Leader Interactions With Teachers on Student Achievement: A Predictive Study," University of Louisville and Western Kentucky University; Jay Fiene, Adviser 2009 - William C. Reed for "Teachers' Education Factors and Their Influence on Formative Assessment Processes," Old Dominion University; John M. Ritz, Advisor.

Deadlines for All Awards are as follows:

August 15, 2012:

  • Outstanding Dissertation Award

October 12, 2012

  • Best Practice Award for Professional Ethics and Moral Dispositions in Teacher Education
  • Best Practice Award for the Innovative Use of Technology
  • Best Practice Award in Support of Global Diversity
  • Margaret B. Lindsey Award for Distinguished Research in Teacher Education
  • David G. Imig Award for Distinguished Achievement in Teacher Education
  • Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education

For more information about each award, please visit

Stay Connected

Receive a monthly newsletter covering COE news, events and announcements.

    Sign Up

Media Contact

Communications Coordinator
Jennifer Parks
(808) 956-0416