#### UHM COE FACULTY SENATE MEETING Friday, April 24, 2015, 12 Noon–2:00 PM LSP 4B

#### **Call to Order**

Chair Tara O'Neill called the meeting to order at 12:07 p.m. on Friday, April 24, 2015, at the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa, College of Education, LSP 4B.

Present (21): Chair Tara O'Neill (EDCS), Secretary Kathy Ratliffe (EDEP), Denise Abara (OSAS), Helen Au (CRDG), Stephanie Buelow (ITE), Mary Chang (COEDSA), Judy Daniels (KRS), Hugh Dunn (CRDG), David Ericson (EDEF), Linda Furuto (EDCS), Jaret Leong (Fellowship Chair), Min Liu (EDEP), Chris Lucas (EDEA), Jessica Miranda (Dean's Office), Leslie Novosel (SPED), Yukiya Oba (KRS), Seungoh Paek (LTEC), Matthew Schmidt (LTEC), Ellen Spitler (ITE), Lisa Uyehara (CDS), JoAnn Yuen (CDS).

Alternates (2): AB (EDCS), Jenaia Narte (CESA)

Excused (3): Co-Chair Eomai Kukahiko (EDCS), Shannon Hillman (COEDSA), Tory Watanabe (CESA).

Presenters: None.

Guests (1): Dean Donald Young.

Support (1): Richard Mizusawa.

#### **Approval of Minutes of March 2015 Meeting**

Senator Matthew Schmidt moved to approve the minutes of the March 2015 meeting, seconded by Senator Uyehara. There was one correction suggested under page 1 regarding the facilities question, that it be added that Dean Young said there was nothing to report. With no other corrections, the minutes were approved.

#### **Report from the Chair**

Chair O'Neill led door prize giveaways.

#### **Report from the Mānoa Faculty Senate**

Senator Roberts noted that there is a resolution to amend the by-laws. There were budget decisions being made. She also said that the MFS finished their elections.

### **Report from the ACCFSC**

Chair O'Neill said the ACCFSC had their last meeting this past week. Chair O'Neill tried calling in and the biggest issue is that there is conversation from the Council of Chancellors for the collective protocol of class evaluations. Comments are sent directly to the Council of Chancellors to get feedback on this new evaluation policy. Chair O'Neill encouraged student groups, faculty and staff to give feedback and to get involved. She said to please send this on to people the Senate members represent.

Senator Ericson asked why this was brought about, and Chair O'Neill said that it is contentious and troubling, and it was questioned why we want to do a collective evaluation policy. She said she will send out the minutes from the meeting to the Senate.

### **Report from Committees**

### Committee on Curriculum and Program Planning

No report.

Committee on Personnel

No report.

# Committee on Budget and Facilities

Senator Novosel said she has no report, but asked the Senate to let her know if there is anything she can work on over the summer. There was a discussion on talking with legislators when session is over to get our facilities discussed and brought to the table.

#### Committee on Student-Faculty Relations

The motion from the Committee on Student-Faculty Relations will not be voted on today, but will be brought back to each department before a final vote is made.

# Committee on Diversity

No report.

#### Committee on Fellowship

Senator Leong discussed the awards and said the selection committee had a meeting on April 6. He also described the budget for the awards.

Chair O'Neill made a motion to approve the proposed budget for awards with a second by Senator Ratliffe. The motion was approved unanimously.

Senator Leong said that the Conversation with the Dean is today at 3:00pm. EDEP is sponsoring the event today.

### Committee on Governance

No report.

### Lifetime Achievement Award discussion and Vote

Senator Leong opened up the voting for the Lifetime Achievement Award and ballots were passed out to each present Senate member.

Senator Au made a motion to allow for multiple Lifetime Achievement Award winners, with a second by Senator Yuen. The motion was approved.

After a vote was taken, and after discussion was taken up about whether to have three winners or one winner, 10 votes were for three winners, eight votes were for one winner, and two abstained.

# **Dean's Report**

Dean Young announced individuals receiving travel support. He also said that Pohai Schultz won a national advising award. He also completed meetings with chairs and budget and vacancy projections.

Dean Young brought up the budget and we are expecting level funding going into FY16. This year, he said we have a 3% budget cut on top of last year's cut, with the Governor's restriction. For our College, we are expecting a permanent 3% cut.

He submitted a report to the Vice Chancellor as part of his evaluation, which he described to the Senate.

Dean Young invited the Senate to attend the last Conversation with the Dean event today. The Congress meeting will be on May 8, 2015, and also the College-wide meeting for the Fall 2015 semester will be August 18, 2015 from 9:00 - 10:30 a.m.

#### **New Business**

# SFRC Motion Regarding Setting Up a College-wide List Serve

Senator Lucas discussed building community bridges between students, faculty and staff and a tangible way to do this was through the proposal submitted to communicate electronically to be more efficient, inclusive in reaching all stakeholders, and allowing a sense of community in a more tangible way. It includes a suggested solution of creating a new list serve for faculty and students, and rationale.

Senator Miranda asked about including alumni and emeritus faculty in this list serve. She also brought up the potential misuse of list serves and concern that alumni might be adversely

affected by any misuse. It was clarified that it is proposed to be an announcement only list serve that will not accept replies.

Chair O'Neill brought up the issue if students will engage in this and open their emails. She said she does not want to just send more emails.

After feedback and suggestions were taken, it was decided that this issue will be brought to next year's Senate.

# **Adjournment**

With no further business, Chair O'Neill adjourned the meeting at 1:58 p.m.

Submitted by: Richard Mizusawa, COE Senate Graduate Assistant Reviewed by: Katherine Ratliffe, COE Senate Secretary