Brook Chapman de Sousa

Associate Professor Brook Chapman de Sousa, of the College of Education (COE), has been selected for the Dr. Amefil “Amy” Agbayani Faculty Diversity Enhancement Award by the UH Mānoa Commission on Inclusion and Diversity. Each year, the award recognizes a university faculty member who has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to enhancing diversity.

“Brook’s commitment to enhancing diversity at UH Mānoa is evident through her significant contributions, accomplishments, and services since coming to the college,” said Elementary Education Director Kuʽulei Serna. “As a single mother of two young children, she has relentlessly sacrificed her time and energy to ensure that educational opportunities are maximized for the UHM students, faculty, and non-UHM community members from diverse populations.”

Chapman de Sousa was nominated by Serna with additional letters of support from her colleagues. The areas of her work that led to the award include recruiting, retaining, and graduating linguistically and culturally diverse teacher candidates and creating a supportive environment that enhances diversity. Her teaching, research, and service also focus on inclusive pedagogy for multilingual learners.

“I am humbled and inspired to receive an award in Dr. Amefil “Amy” Agbayani’s name,” said Chapman de Sousa. “It is a tremendous honor. I deeply admire Dr. Agbayani’s commitment to equity, student diversity, and inclusion, and hope I can contribute in my small way. I would not be able to do my work without leaders such as Dr. Agbayani and the support of my amazing mentors, colleagues, and family.”

The award, which includes $1,500, will facilitate projects to provide teachers with resources and connections in the community. Chapman de Sousa plans to expand initiatives to recruit, retain, and graduate linguistically and culturally diverse teacher candidates as well as to conduct research on inclusive classroom practices for multilingual learners.

Chapman de Sousa will be recognized at the President’s Award Ceremony on May 2, 2022.

Agbayani served as the founder and director of the Office of Student Equity, Excellence and Diversity (SEED) for more than 40 years. The award was established in recognition of her lifetime commitment to diversity and social justice in Hawaiʻi.

Stay Connected

Receive a monthly newsletter covering COE news, events, and announcements

Sign Up