COEAA Alumni Awardees

The COEAA has selected and honored a distinguished alumni each year since 1989. We honor these exceptional and outstanding leaders of our educational community for their invaluable contributions to education. They have been an inspiration for present and future educators. The table below is a listing of the recipients of the COEAA Distinguished Alumni award:

Year Name Position
2020 Justin Mew Kaiser High Principal
2019 Catherine Payne Chair, Board of Education
2018 Dr. Donald Young Dean, UHM-COE
2017 Ernest Duterte Libarios, Sr. Leeward Community College Counselor
2016 Keith Hayashi Waipahu High Principal
2015 Ann Mahi DOE Complex Area Supt., Leeward
2014 Ruth Silberstein DOE Complex Area Supt., Honolulu
2013 Meredith Maeda Castle High Principal
2012 Dr. Iris Fukui UH Administrator/Dean
2011 Odetta Fujimori Teacher, HSTA President
2010 Dr. Kathryn Au Executive Officer, School Rise, LLC
2008 Ronald Bright Castle High Teacher & Artistic Director
2007 Henry Ariyoshi Lahainaluna High Principal
2006 Dr. Don Nugent DOE Asst. Supt., Personnel
2005 Dr. Janet Ishikawa-Fullmer President, Human Resources Dev. Ctr., Inc.
2004 Dr. Charles Araki Dean, UHM-COE
2003 Dr. Carl Daeufer Professor, UHM-COE
2002 Dr. Ichiro Fukumoto DOE Director, Planning & Evaluation
2001 Shigeru Hotoke Kailua High Music Teacher
2000 Thelma Nip Kaimuki High Principal
1999 Dr. Mitsugi Nakashima BOE Member/District Supt.
1998 Dr. Hubert Everly Dean, UHM-COE
1997 Claudio Suyat DOE District Supt.
1996 Ruth Kiehm Student Teacher Supervisor, UHM-COE
1995 Dr. Doris Ching VP, Student Affairs, UHM
1994 Yun Soong Jim McKinley High Teacher
1993 Dr. Margaret Oda DOE District Supt./Deputy Supt.
1992 Dr. Andrew In Dean, UHM-COE
1991 Dr. Shiro Amioka DOE Supt./Professor, UHM-COE
1990 Gladys Ainoa Brant Teacher & Principal
1989 Senator Sparky Matsunaga U.S. Senator