Alumni meeting

Leadership & Purpose

COEAA has been established to:

  • Support the College of Education, its student organizations, faculty/staff, and programs;
  • Promote fellowship and loyalty between the College of Education and its alumni and former students;
  • Enhance the reputation of the College of Education through recognition of alumni accomplishments;
  • Promote the professional development of Association members;
  • Cooperate with the University of Hawai`i Alumni Association in fostering a spirit of fraternalism and loyalty among the graduates, former students, faculty, administration, and friends of the College of Education;
  • Serve as a resource to the College of Education, the Hawaii Department of Education, and other education entities in the state for developing policies and programs that are responsive to Hawaii’s education needs;
  • Engage in other activities that are consistent with the objectives of the Association.

Please join the COEAA and assist us in supporting the College of Education and teachers who are new to the teaching profession. We are working together to make a difference and would love to hear from you! Please feel free to contact board members with your questions and interests.

Vision and Mission

Our Vision
The vision of the COEAA is to be a vital partner in the success of the University of Hawai`i at Manoa College of Education through significant engagement of the network of local, national and international alumni.

Our Mission
The mission of the COEAA is to serve and support the next generation of educators through meaningful engagement, partnerships with the community, opportunities for ontinued learning, and philanthropic endeavors.


  • President Jan Iwase
  • Vice President Elynne Chung
  • Secretary Kayla Ueshiro
  • Treasurer Michael Harano
  • Immediate Past President Steve Shiraki
  • Engagement Committee Chairperson Kristen Brummel
  • Fundraising Committee Chairperson
  • Publicity Committee Chairpersons Kevin Agtarap and Lori Kwee
  • Kevin Agtarap
  • Kristen Brummel
  • Lori Furoyama
  • Stephanie Furuta
  • Holly Kiyonaga
  • Lori Kwee
  • Zachary Morita
  • Karen Moriyama
  • Fred Murphy
  • Dean Nakamoto
  • Kristi Oda
  • Amy Perusso
  • Ellen Schroeder
  • Stacey Takanishi
  • Susan Taylor
  • Nathan Murata, Dean, College of Education
  • Mark Fukeda, Director of Development
  • Alyssa Kapaona, Office of Student Academic Services
  • Justine Jumalon, Shana Shin, Brooke Kumasaka – CESA Representatives
  • Ger Thao, Janet Kim – COEDSA Representatives
  • TBD – COEMSA Representative