COE Alumni Association

COE Alumni Association

President's Message:

Aloha Friends,

Jan Iwase

These past two years have been one of change for the College of Education Alumni Association (COEAA). The pandemic provided a unique opportunity to examine past practices and to make the kinds of changes which will enable us to continue our support for COE students and alumni and educators throughout the state. Mahalo to Past President Steve Shiraki, his officers, and the Board of Directors for their tireless work in transforming our organization to adapt to these changing times. Monthly meetings are now held virtually, and we have had opportunities to engage in conversations and to learn from educators who are making a difference in their communities.

Our By-Laws and Constitution were revised and approved by the COE membership in May 2022. We, as an organization, are committed to mentoring and supporting educators and our alumni, not just here in Hawai`i, but throughout our country and our world.

COEAA will continue to support the Distinguished Alumni Award program which honors a COE alumnus who has made outstanding contributions to the education profession and community and who has committed to advancing excellence in education. This past year, we also awarded a Neighbor Island Distinguished Alumni Award. We are committed to engage our alumni on the neighbor islands as well as those who do not presently reside in Hawai`i. We will also continue to allocate funds to award scholarships to deserving students who are enrolled in the College of Education. We will be exploring options to raise funds for these purposes.

If you are not yet a member of our organization, please go to the University of Hawai`i Alumni Association (UHAA) website and update your contact information. At that time, you can choose to join the COEAA chapter. Membership is free and open to all UHM College of Education graduates. We would love to have you join us!

With warmest aloha,
Jan Iwase, President




Become a Member!

Join the COEAA

Activate your FREE UHAA Online Ohana account – you will need to enter your name and 10-digit alumni ID number. Don’t have your ID? Contact the Alumni Relations Office at