Joanna Philippoff and Brook Chapman de Sousa
Joanna Philippoff and Brook Chapman de Sousa

Brook Chapman de Sousa and Joanna Philippoff, of the UH Mānoa College of Education (COE), have been selected as the 2022–2023 Hubert V. Everly Endowed Scholar in Education recipients. As part of the endowment, they will each receive $13,500 over two semesters to support their proposed projects.

The focus of the Everly scholars program is to promote careers and provide opportunities and resources for scholarly activities that will address important issues in the P–20 educational system as well as public and private education throughout Hawaiʻi.

“I would like to congratulate Dr. Brook Chapman de Sousa and Dr. Joanna Philippoff for receiving the endowed scholar award,” Dean Nathan Murata said. “This award allows recipients to expand their corpus of research or to investigate new and innovative ideas that could lead to future funding opportunities. Please join me in congratulating our Everly Scholars.”

Chapman de Sousa, an associate professor in the Elementary Education and Multilingual Learning Program, joined the COE in 2009 as a graduate assistant before becoming faculty. Through her project, Multicultural Multilingual Learners in Hawaiʻi Video Resources, she will partner with Secondary World Languages Professor Alohilani Okamura and community members to create a video library for teachers and teacher educators.

“This designation is a great honor and allows Dr. Okamura and me to continue a project that we started in the spring of 2022 in which we provided workshops and sets of bilingual books to COE students,” Chapman de Sousa said. “Members from the Chuukese and Marshallese communities created read-aloud videos of the books and provided background information and resources to the participants. This experience led to our initial conversations with community members about making resource videos for teachers and teacher educators, and we are so grateful for this opportunity!”

Philippoff, an assistant specialist in the Curriculum Research and Development Group (CRDG), also began her career at the COE as a graduate assistant in 2005 before joining the faculty. The endowed scholar position will enable her to expand her OPIHI (Our Project In Hawaii’s Intertidal) project to OPIHI–Elementary, serving both in-service and pre-service teachers in a professional development project that will support them and their students in learning about and contributing to our knowledge of the Hawaiian rocky Intertidal.

“I am honored to receive this designation,” Philippoff said. “This project extends my research agenda in participatory science—involving novices in authentic research—focused on the intertidal. A key aspect of the project involves the convening of an advisory board of OPIHI partners and experts who will provide input and feedback on the design of the curriculum and monitoring approach. I am particularly excited to work with these experts to develop something that can be of value to the scientific, cultural, and education communities.”

Hubert V. Everly, the longest serving COE dean (1959–1979), was also dean of the Teacher’s College before it became the COE. Among his numerous honors, including a COE Lifetime Achievement Award, an endowed scholar position was established in his name in 2006.

Stay Connected

Receive a monthly newsletter covering COE news, events, and announcements

Sign Up